Organisational Structure - Who's Who

The Rugby Football Union is the national governing body of rugby union in England and a Co-operative and Community Benefit Society, a legal status which means that it operates to reinvest all profits back into the sport.

The RFU aims to win recognition for the way it governs the sport, ensuring all involved in rugby are appropriately and fairly represented and protecting the sport’s integrity and standing. 

The Union has a Board of Directors appointed for three-year terms of office, with maximum time limits. The inclusion of independent non-executive directors is stipulated in the RFU’s Rules, with the role of Chairman also open to an independent person elected by the Council.

Organisational structure

Patron: HRH Prince Henry of Wales 

President: John Spencer

Chairman: Andy Cosslett

Executive Directors

Chief Executive Officer: Ian Ritchie

Chief Officer, Business Operations: Stephen Brown

Rugby Development Director: Steve Grainger

Digital, Marketing and Communications Director: Joanna Manning-Cooper

Chief Commercial Officer: Simon Massie-Taylor

Professional Rugby Director: Nigel Melville

Board of Directors 

Andy Cosslett (Chairman)

Ian Ritchie (Chief Executive Officer)

Stephen Brown (Chief Officer Business Operations)

Simon Massie-Taylor (Chief Commercial Officer)

Jeff Blackett

Rob Briers

Chris Cuthbertson

Deborah Griffin OBE

Dominic Proctor

Jonathan Webb

Helen Weir CBE

Malcolm Wharton CBE

Stephen Pearson