Disciplinary Panel Members - Midlands

HHJ Sean Enright

Sean has been a Circuit Judge for the last nine years. Prior to that appointment he was in practice at the criminal bar for 25 years.
He has been actively involved in playing, coaching or administration in the game for 40 years and joined the RFU discipline panel as chair in 2008.

John Brennan

John was appointed as a Judicial Officer in 2005.
He also sits from time to time as an independent chairman of Disciplinary Panels for Constituent Bodies in the West Midlands.

William Harbage QC

William has been a panel member, Chairman and Appeal Panel Chairman since 2012.
He is a barrister in private practice at 36 Bedford Row, London, specialising in criminal & regulatory law.
He has also been a Recorder of the Crown Court since 1999. He played to county level.

Alex Nock

Alex has an extensive background in rugby having been involved over the past 25 years as a player, coach, referee and manager.
He has been a panel member since 2013.

Andy Campbell

A retired Dentist, Andy is a former RFU Council Member, who played for Guys Hospital and Burton RFC. He served Staffordshire as CB Secretary for five years, and Disciplinary Secretary for eight of ten years as a Panel Member, and now holds a Master of Law (Sports Law) Degree.

Chris Skaife

Chris is a senior RAF Officer by profession, but also the Executive Chairman of Oxfordshire RFU.
  A former player, referee and coach, Chris has been involved in rugby since he was 11 and been a Panel Member since September 2016.

Colin Baldwin

Colin is one of three chairmen that sit on the Warwickshire RFU Disciplinary Panel.  He also sits on inter CB/RFU disciplinary hearings when required.

David Warner

David is a former Army Officer and is now a barrister in London. He joined the panel in 2016.
He played rugby for his regiment before injury called a halt. He is a former Chairman of Droitwich RFC, the North Midlands Youth Discipline Secretary, an occasional vets player and a qualified referee.

Andrew Lockhart QC

HHJ Andrew Lockhart QC has been involved with RFU discipline for a number of years. He played Rugby at School, University, in the Army and for Bromsgrove RFC. 
He has maintained strong links with the modern game by reason of having 2 sons who play regularly in University and Club Rugby.

Ian Larsen

Ian is a retired Police Officer, panel member for Warwickshire RFU Disciplinary Committee and former Chairman at Sutton Coldfield RFC He has 45 years experience as player, coach and administrator.

John Loughton

John is a former Player, referee, coach and administrator at schools, club and county level.
He is a past member of the RFU Council (1995 to 2001), former Secondary Head and current Justice of the Peace.

Julian Springer

Julian is a solicitor who works in professional rugby, having cut his teeth in private practice in the city.
Julian has gained experience playing, coaching and refereeing rugby.

Leon Lloyd

Leon is a Panel Member appointed in September 2016. He played professional rugby for Leicester Tigers, Gloucester, Barbarians and England over a 15 year period. He is also a member of the EPCR and World Rugby Disciplinary Panels.

Les Vernon

In 1991 Les joined the Leicestershire Rugby Union. He holds a number of positions in the Community Game including club panel member, CB Youth Discipline Secretary , CB and RFU panel member.

Matt Bayliss

Matt is a former player, Referee, Citing Commissioner and Chair of Gloucestershire RFU Disciplinary.

Nigel Stelling

Nigel is a criminal barrister called in 1987. He is based out of Citadel Chambers in Birmingham. Nigel is a former player and coach.

Peter Jordan

Peter is the North Midlands Discipline Secretary and has many years' experience in junior rugby as a front row player. In addition he is the past President of North Mids CB.
He is a solicitor advocate in courts in the Birmingham area.

Ruth Middleton

Ruth is a law graduate and previously played premiership rugby for Lichfield. She retired in 2014 due to injury and moved into administration and management at Level 5 in the men’s game. She is currently head coach for a women’s team and has recently returned to the field to represent the North Midlands.

Steve Miles

Steve is Secretary for the East Midlands Rugby Union (CB) and Chairman of East Midlands Rugby Union Disciplinary Committee.
He is also a member of the RFU National Panel.

Tony Wheat

Tony is a former player, coach and Director of Rugby at National League level. He has been an RFU Judiciary Panel Member since 2014, Six Nations Panel Member since 2017.