Disciplinary Panel Members - North

Antony Davies

Antony is a former player, Referee and Youth Coach. He has been a Chairman for the RFU National Panel since 2003. He sits as a Judicial Officer for 6 Nations Rugby, EPCR and World Rugby and has officiated at Youth and Women’s World Cups and at RWC 2015.
His experience includes foul play and misconduct cases, Anti-Doping, Competition and Regulatory Appeals, Safeguarding and Welfare cases and Appeals.
He was Secretary of English National League Club Wharfedale RUFC for 15 years and continues to advise the Club and its Players on Disciplinary and Regulatory matters.
He is a Solicitor in private practice in the Yorkshire Dales

Ian Unsworth QC

Ian Unsworth QC specialises in Serious Crime and Sports Law. A former Minis and Junior Coach and Chairman for a National League Club, Ian has been an RFU Judicial Officer acting as Chairman of first instance cases and appeals since 2010.
He also sits as a Judicial Officer for the 6 Nations and World Rugby.

Mike Hamlin

Mike is a former player (Hooker for 26 years) and Referee for 19 years (RFU Panel Referee for 13 years and officiated in 9 different countries).
Since 2005 he has been chairing RFU disciplinary and appeal panels; he is also a judicial officer and chairman for World Rugby, Six Nations and EPCR and also acts as a Match Commissioner for Rugby Europe. In addition he is currently a timekeeper for the Premiership and internationals and is Chairman of Manchester and District RURS.
He is a retired Solicitor but still sits part time as a Judge and has done since 1995.

Sam Hillas

Sam Hillas is a barrister on the Northern Circuit, specialising in matrimonial finance and practising from St Johns Buildings.
She has played and been involved with rugby for the last 25 years and still has the occasional run out as tighthead prop for Birkenhead Park Panthers.
Prior to her appointment to the RFU’s disciplinary panel, Sam represented a number of players at constituent body/RFU disciplinary hearings. She began to sit as a panel member for the RFU during the 2012-2013 season.  She sits mainly in the North of England and has chaired numerous panels since her appointment as a panel chairman during the 2014-2015 season.  Sam is also on the judicial panel for Six Nations, EPCR and World Rugby.

Adrian Senn

Adrian is a former player with Saint-Louis (F), Wilmslow (Eng), Basel (CH) and Congleton (Eng). He refereed with Staffordshire RFU Society of Referees. He is a former Club Treasurer, Secretary and Chairman of Congleton RUFC. He has been a member of Cheshire RFU since 1991; Disciplinary Committee member since 1995, Disciplinary Committee Chairman since 2000; Chairman of the Executive Committee (2000/1) and President Cheshire RFU (2011/13). He has been an RFU Disciplinary panel member since 2012.

Alex Speed

Alexander is a former player, referee and coach and is Vice President of Didsbury Toc H in Manchester. He is a practicing solicitor and is vice chair of disciplinary in Lancashire.

Austin Newman

Austin is a barrister, practising in Criminal and Personal Injury Law on the North Eastern Circuit. He is a former player, club administrator and occasional participant in vets fixtures.

Wing Commander David M MacInnes

David is a retired Senior RAF officer after 30 years’ service. He played rugby from school days until over 40 and also refereed to county level and assessed and coached up to level 6 retiring in 2016.
He coached the game from club to divisional level, administered the game in clubs as Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer moving on to be Secretary of Cumbria and Yorkshire and representing Yorkshire on the RFU Council, finally retiring from that post in 2008. He is a member of the Judiciary at both County and National Level.

Dr Barry O'Driscoll

Barry is an ex-Rugby International.
A Fellow of the Faculty of Sport & Exercise Medicine, he has sat on RFU, 6 Nations and European Cup discipline and doping tribunals for many years.

Guy Lovgreen

Guy joined the Panel in 2016.
He is a current coach (level 3) with experience in National 1 as well as the County structure.

HHJ Simon Phillips

Simon is a Circuit Judge and was formerly in practice as a QC specialising in criminal law and professional discipline. He played rugby for Trinity Hall at Cambridge University and for the Bar.  He has been involved as an RFU disciplinary panel member since 2012.

John Downham

John is an RFU panel member and was appointed in September 2015. He was appointed to Cheshire RFU Discipline in September 2002 and has held roles as a panel chairman, panel member, secretary and CBYDS since. He is also now Hon Secretary of Cheshire RFU.

John Greenwood

John joined the RFU discipline panel in 2016 and is Discipline Chairman of Lancashire CB.
He is a solicitor in private practice and has a long-standing involvement with Fylde RFC having formerly been appointed as 1st XV Manager, Senior Squad Director and more recently, their Director of Rugby.

Peter Rhodes

Peter has been an RFU panel member for a considerable number of years and is now a non-practising Solicitor. He is currently the Disciplinary Secretary and Governance officer for Cheshire RFU.

Siobhan Walsh

Siobhan joined the RFU disciplinary panel in 2013 as an Anti-Doping disciplinary panel member and now sits on the main Judicial Panel for the northern region.

Martyn Wood

Martyn is a former professional player for Wasps and Bath, he gained 2 caps for England before retiring due to injury in 2007.
He joined the RFU panel is 2014 and is the current DoR at Hull Ionians in National 1.

Rob Vickerman

Rob is an ex-Professional rugby player having played for 12 years representing Leeds, Newcastle and England 7’s, latterly as Captain.
He now commentates around the World and domestically, heads up a performance consultancy and is also an RPA Player Alumni representative.