England Rugby Academies

The England Rugby Academy system comprises of a network of Regional Academies and is a collaboration between the RFU and the professional game to develop players for the Premiership and England. The Regional Academies were born in 2001 following the production of the World Class Performance Plan and the RFU’s successful application for National Lottery Funding.

Fourteen Regional Academies are licenced by the RFU and are funded by both the RFU and Premiership Rugby Limited (PRL). Each academy has a designated geographic area from which to exclusively draw and develop elite players.   

In season 2014-15, the Regional Academies are located at eleven Aviva Premiership clubs (London Welsh being the exception), Worcester, Leeds and Bristol from the Greene King IPA Championship.