Commonwealth Games Sevens schedule announced

  • Commonwealth Games Sevens schedule announced
  • Team England have entered men's and women's team
  • Full match schedule for the tournament here

The match schedule for the Commonwealth Games Sevens in Australia’s Gold Coast has been confirmed with Team England’s men’s and women’s teams featuring across the three-day event.

What: Commonwealth Games Sevens

When: 13 -15 April 2018

Where: Robina Stadium, Gold Coast, Australia

The women will get England’s quest for a medal underway on Friday 13 April, when they meet Fiji in Pool B, before taking on Australia in the final game of the evening session.

Their third pool game - against Wales - will take place on day two of the tournament, after which they will then progress to knockout stages, depending on results.

Teams placed third and fourth will advance to ‘classification rounds' to determine the placings for fifth to eighth in the competition, whilst the top two ranked from each pool go on to the semi-finals on Sunday 15 April. 

For the men, who also find themselves in Pool B of their instalment, it is Jamaica up first on Saturday 14 April, followed by Samoa at the end of the morning session, and then Australia in the evening session.

Teams that finish third and fourth in the respective pools will be eliminated at the end of the day. 

The top-ranked team from each pool will make up the semi-finals and go on to play for medals, whilst second-place sides will advance to ‘classification rounds’ to determine placings for fifth to eighth in the tournament. These games will be contested on Sunday 15 April.

Full match schedule for the tournament here