England Counties confirm team for first tour match

  • England Counties to play Euskarians on Wednesday, 31 May at 6.30pm
  • Keith Laughlin to captain side 

England Counties have confirmed their side to take on Euskarians in San Sebastian on Wednesday, 31 May before they take on a Spain XV on Saturday, 3 June.

The team will take on the Basque side at 6.30pm (BST) having spent the beginning of the week training. 

Several of the side were involved in the Bill Beaumont County Championship finals which concluded over the weekend at Twickenham.

The team will once again be led by Blaydon's Keith Laughlin with the side unbeaten so far this year having recorded wins over Scotland Club XV and Ireland Club XV, running out 45-28 and 34-26 winners respectively.

England Counties is the flagship team of the community game in England and offers players from National League One and below the opportunity to represent their country. 

England Counties team:

1. Hayden King (Old Albanians and Hertfordshire)
2. Fran Entressengle (Huddersfield and Yorkshire)
3. Alex Gilthrow (Clifton and Somerset)
4. Joe Makin (Hull Ionians and Yorkshire)
5. Rob Birtwelln (Sedgley Park and Lancashire)
6. Keith Laughlin (Blaydon and Northumberland) - CAPTAIN
7. Harry Bate (Old Albanians and Hertfordshire)
8. Ed Milne (Rosslyn Park and Surrey)
9. Dave Brazier (Coventry and North Midlands)
10. Rhys Hayes (Caldy and Cheshire)
11. Robin Wedlake (Plymouth and Cornwall)
12. Jack Lavin (Caldy and Cheshire)
13. Albert Portsmouth (Cambridge and Eastern Counties)
14. Max Trimble (Coventry and Warwickshire)
15. Pete Swatkins (Sheffield Tigers and Yorkshire)


16. Dan Seal (Cambridge and East Midlands) 
17. Neil Sweeney (Esher and Surrey)
18. Matt Collins (Ampthill and East Midlands)
19. Nile Dacres (Coventry and North Midlands)
20. Jack Preece (Coventry and Gloucestershire)
21. Pete White (Coventry and East Midlands)
22. Sam Baker (Ampthill and East Midlands)
23. Tom Wheatcroft (Coventry and Leicestershire)
24. Tom Baldwin (Blackheath and Kent)
25. James Stokes (Coventry and Warwickshire)
26. Matt Shepherd (Plymouth and Cornwall)