England Counties U18 name squad for Ireland tests

  • England Counties U18 squad named
  • They will face Ireland in two Tests this April

England Counties U18 team manager Dave Penberthy has named his 2018 squad with the team set to face Ireland Clubs in two Tests this April.

The squad of 23 was selected following a national development weekend held at the end of February which saw players from cross the counry gather for the three day selection process. 

England Counties U18s will face Ireland on the 4th April followed by 7th April with both matches to be played at HMS Temeraire in Portsmouth.

Last season England lost out in two close games away to Ireland but Penberthy is confident they can come away with two victories this April. 

"The standard has improved year on year and this year the selection process was really tough," said Penberthy. 

"We know Ireland will be very well prepared and will bring a huge amount of physicality but there is a lot of excitement amongst our squad and a real sense of team unity already."

England's preperations will include a match session against Ealing Trailfinders Academy on 10th March with head coach Giles Heagerty once again taking charge of the side. 

He will be assisted by Matt Hutchings with Bee Bannister taking on the role of Chair of Selectors and Andrew Rickard as assistant team manager. 

England Counties U18 squad

1 Edward ANDERSON, Durham, Yarm School & Yarm RFC
2 Theo BARKWAY HALL, Surrey, Epsom College & Weybridge Vandals RFC
3 Luke BOUCHIER, Hertfordshire, Oakland Academy & Chesham RFC
4 Harry CLAYTON, Leicestershire, Stamford School & Leicester Forest RFC
5 Zachary CLOW, Hampshire, St John’s College Southsea & Havant RFC
6 Edward Cox, Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire Stamford School
7 Harry CRAVEN, Cheshire, The Grange School & Chester
8 Evan DAVIES, Oxfordshire, Princes Risborough School & Chinnor RFC
9 Charlie FLECKNEY, East Midlands, Moulton College & Ampthill RFC
10 Joshua GOODWIN, Sussex, Seaford College & Chichester RFC
11 Aaron GRANDIDIER-NKANANG, Kent, St Olave’s Grammar School & Old Elthamians RFC
12 Matas JUREVICIUS, Kent, Hayes School & Saracens RFC
13 Cameron KING, Oxfordshire, St Edward’s School
14 Thomas KNIGHT-OWEN, Hampshire, Peter Symmonds College & Trojans RFC
15 Oliver MOODY, Hertfordshire, Haileybury College & Old Albanians RFC
16 William RIGG, Warwickshire, Solihull School
17 James SHERLOCK, Cheshire, Lymm High School & Lymm RFC
18 Aaron SIMMONDS, Cornwall, Truro College & Penryn RFC
19 Luke SPRING, Hampshire, Brockenhurst College & Bournemouth RFC
20 Isaac THOMPSON, Leicestershire, Oakham School & Melton Mowbray RFC
21 Austin WALLIS, Surrey, Reeds School & Reeds Weybridge RFC
22 Jamie WHITE, Worcestershire, Worcester 6th Form College & Worcester RFC
23 Matthew WILKINSON, Oxfordshire, Waddeson C of E School & Chinnor RFC