England Counties name side for Spain clash

England Counties have named their side to face a Spain XV on Saturday, 3 June. 

Counties go into the match with plenty of momentum having beaten Basque side Euskarians 61-19 on Wednesday. 

The side will once again be captained by Keith Laughlin with Pete Swatkins, Dave Brazier and Ed Milne all unavailable for selection through injury. 

Jack Lavin, who scored 12 points from the tee against Euskarians, features at inside centre with Matt Shepherd providing another option as kicker from full-back. 

Head Coach James Shanahan said he was pleased with England's performance earlier in the week but is expecting a tougher test tomorrow. 

"We're really happy with the start to the campaign considering we have had limited time together," said Shanahan.

"We're now looking ahead to a really tough test in Madrid against what we will be a quality opposition."

England Counties is the flagship team of the community game in England and offers players from National League One and below the opportunity to represent their country.   

England Counties

1. Dan Seal (Cambridge and East Midlands)
2. Neil Sweeney (Esher and Surrey)
3. Matt Collins (Ampthill and East Midlands)
4. Nile Dacres (Coventry and North Midlands)
5. Joe Makin (Hull Ionians and Yorkshire) 
6. Keith Laughlin (c) (Blaydon and Northumberland)
7. Jack Preece (Coventry and Gloucestershire)
8. Tom Baldwin (Blackheath and Kent)

9. Pete White (Coventry and East Midlands)
10. Rhys Hayes (Caldy and Cheshire)
11. Sam Baker (Ampthill and East Midlands)
12. Jack Lavin (Caldy and Cheshire)
13. Albert Portsmouth (Cambridge and Eastern Counties)
14. James Stokes (Coventry and Warwickshire)
15. Matt Shepherd (Plymouth and Cornwall)


16. Fran Entressengle (Huddersfield and Yorkshire)
17. Hayden King (Old Albanians and Hertfordshire)
18. Alex Gilthrow (Clifton and Somerset)
19. Rob Birtwell (Sedgley Park and Lancashire)
20. Harry Bate (Old Albanians and Hertfordshire)
21. Tom Wheatcroft (Coventry and Leicestershire)
22. Max Trimble (Coventry and Warwickshire)
23. Robin Wedlake (Plymouth and Cornwall)