England Sevens squad named for Hamilton

Head of England Sevens Simon Amor has made two changes to the men's side ahead of the HSBC New Zealand Sevens in Hamilton on 3-4 February, live on Sky Sports Arena.

Currently sixth in the World Series standings, three points behind Fiji, England have been drawn in Pool B alongside Russia, Papua New Guinea and South Africa.

Ryan Olowofela replaces Alex Davis, who sustained an ankle injury during the Sydney Sevens last weekend, whilst Will Edwards has been drafted into the 13th man spot.

“We started the season well in Dubai but we just got our attacking game a little bit wrong in Cape Town and Sydney. We’ve been working on this based upon how the other teams have evolved their defences over the past two tournaments and we’re ready and excited for Hamilton now,” said Amor.

“It’s obviously hugely disappointing to lose Alex Davis in the first half of the first game on his return from injury in Sydney, but this provides a great opportunity for Ryan Olowofela who made his World Series debut against some of the best teams in the world last weekend.

“At just 19 years old Ryan really held his own and he’s progressed even further in training this week, so we’re excited to see what he can do in Hamilton.”

The FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton is a new venue on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, replacing Wellington on the circuit.

England Sevens squad for HSBC New Zealand Sevens:

Dan Bibby, Tom Bowen, Phil Burgess, Richard de Carpentier, Mike Ellery (Saracens), Ruaridh McConnochie, Tom Mitchell ©, Ollie Lindsay-Hague, Dan Norton, Ryan Olowofela, James Rodwell, Ethan Waddleton, 13th man: Will Edwards.

England’s Pool B fixtures (all in GMT) live on Sky Sports Action (21:50) and Sky Sports Main Event (23:30):

England v Russia (Friday 2 February, 22:44)

England v Papua New Guinea (Saturday 3 February, 02:10)

England v South Africa (Saturday 3 February, 06:06)