HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2017-18 dates confirmed

World Rugby has announced the dates for the 10 rounds of the men’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series in 2017-18.
The schedule sees one change from last season as Hamilton takes over from Wellington as the destination of the New Zealand Sevens, the third round of the series, in February.
Next season will also see room in the schedule to accommodate the Commonwealth Games on Australia’s Gold Coast, which takes place between the Hong Kong and Singapore rounds.

“After yet another record-breaking HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, we look forward to what promises to be a very special 2017-18 season for men’s and women’s rugby sevens," said World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont 

We have 10 stellar series destinations for the men's series that will build excitement ahead of Rugby World Cup Sevens 2018 in San Francisco, which promises to be a huge event as New Zealand men’s and women’s teams seek to defend the trophies they won in 2013.

The series begins in Dubai on 1-2 December, 2017, before moving to Cape Town the following week. After the December break, Sydney will welcome the 16 teams over three days, from 26-28 January, 2018 before teams move to the FMG Stadium Waikato in Hamilton a week later.
The fifth and sixth rounds will then take place in Las Vegas on 2-4 March and Vancouver on 10-11 March.
Teams participating in the Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast in Australia in mid-April will travel via the Hong Kong tournament, which takes place on 6-8 April. The series resumes in Singapore on 28-29 April.

With player welfare considerations at the forefront of schedule planning, rest weeks mean the the HSBC Paris Sevens takes place later than usual on 26-27 May, before teams travel to London where the season will come to a crescendo in Twickenham on 2-3 June.
After the end of series, the focus will turn to the west coast of the USA on 20-22 July for Rugby World Cup Sevens at the iconic AT&T Park, home of the San Francisco Giants baseball team. Tickets for that tournament will go on sale on 20 July, 2017, exactly one year to go. So far, 13 men's teams have qualified for that tournament.