Jones awarded Pat Marshall Memorial Award

  • Jones given Pat Marshall Memorial Award
  • Former winners include Jonah Lomu and Jonny Wilkinson 

England head coach Eddie Jones won the Pat Marshall Memorial Award as the sport's personality of the year for 2016 last night at the Rugby Union Writers' Club Annual Dinner.

The Australian oversaw an outstanding maiden year as England coach after masterminding a perfect run of 13 successive Test victories, including a Grand Slam and series whitewash of Australia.

Jones follows in the footsteps of previous winners including Jonah Lomu, Jonny Wilkinson, Martin Johnson and Dan Carter.

In addition, former England Sevens head coach Ben Ryan, won the Special Award after leading Fiji to their first Olympic gold medal at Rio 2016.