New Premiership Rugby A League launched

  • Premiership A League fixtures confirmed
  • Structural reshuffle to the competition
  • View all of the fixtures here

A structural reshuffle to the Premiership Rugby A League will see 13 teams compete before the semi-finals and finals in April 2018.

The six-team north pool will play each other, both home and away, with the top two progressing to the semi-finals, whilst south pool sides will play each other just once.

From there, the top five after six matches from south pool will meet again, and play an additional four games in a second phase mini-league with the top two reaching the semi-final stage.

The semi-finals will take place on the week commencing 22 April, with the final set to be played on Monday 30 April 2018. 

Opening round

Northampton Wanderers will start the defence of their Premiership Rugby A League title with a trip to Sale Jets in the north pool.

Gloucester United, who will compete in the seven-team south pool, open up their campaign against against new boys London Irish A, whilst Harlequins welcome Exeter Braves to the Stoop.

Elsewhere, Wasps meet Newcastle Falcons, Worcester Cavaliers face off with Leicester Tigers and Bath United take on Saracens Storm. 

The opening round of the A League season comes just days after the commencement of the Aviva Premiership edition.

For a full list of Premiership Rugby A League fixtures, click here.