Old Swinford hold off St Olave's comeback

  • Old Swinford Hospital beat St Olave's 25-13
  • Old Swinford win U18 Bowl final in NatWest Schools Cup

The last time Old Swinford Hospital were in a national final they came up against Dulwich College who dominated the U18 Cup for three years.

This time the Stourbridge school were the stronger team in the under-18s Bowl final running out winners by four tries to two.

Swinford took control through two tries in the first half and a third midway into the second half put them 18-0 up.

St Olave’s made them work for that title though. Tries from wing Aaron Grandidier and lock Kosi Nwubu kept the Kent school in contention before a final Swinford try from substitute forward Charles Fraser.

Swinford certainly deserved a 13-0 lead at half-time. They dominated the opening period and a second try right at the end was just reward.

Though fly half James Westwood missed an opening penalty, Swinford took their next opportunity when centre Benny Trimmer crashed over near the corner.

Trimmer finished off after a fierce spell of pressure but it was a good 25 minutes before Swinford collected their second.

Like the first try, the score came from some steady pressure, led by No 6 Douglas Bridge who was held up near the posts. The ball was then fired out by scrum-half Finn Bridgewater to enable full-back Sam Hughes to finish off.

For St Olave’s, it was a difficult first appearance in a national final and apart one spell they were always on the back foot against a well organised team.

Swinford maintained the pressure after the interval and made certain of the tile 15 minutes into the half when No 8 Jolby Beech was driven over.

St Olave’s looked to attack whenever they gained possession and they made sure of a tense finish when Grandidier and Nwubu scored in the final quarter and James Tate added a penalty.


St Olave’s GS: Niall Johal; Aaron Grandidier, Oliver Tomkins, Charlie Stocks, John Oxley; James Tate, Matthew Lane; Jordan Adesina, Ali Albarosa, Charlie Peck (capt), Hai Duong, Kosi Nwuba, Aldia Chua, Reece Savage, Finn Macpherson.

Substitutes: Darshan Varma, Veysan Kaman, Harrison Crisp, William Carew, Ciaran Twomey, Joshua Goulbourne, Tolu Ogunyamade.

Tries: Grandidier, Nwubu. Penalty goal: Tate.

Old Swinford Hospital: Sam Hughes; Charles Hillard, Jon Baylie (capt), Benny Trimmer, Charlie Simmonds; James Westwood, Finn Bridgwater; Billy Woodman, Tobi Costello, Harry Ridge, Jasper Smith, Sean Riley, Douglas Bridge, Dylan de Sousa, Jolby Beech.

Substitutes: Joseph Brennan, Charles Fraser, Harry Wooldridge, Archie Wooton, Christian Fellows, Hugh Peel, James Taylor.

Tries: Trimmer, Hughes, Beech, Fraser. Conversion: Westwood. Penalty goal: Westwood.

Referee: Adam Wookey.