RBS 6 Nations: Two changes as England target Grand Slam

  • RBS 6 Nations champions England face France in Paris
  • Victory will seal England's first Grand Slam since 2003

England Head Coach Eddie Jones has made two changes to his side for Saturday's match against France in Paris (Saturday 8pm, live on BBC One).

Mako Vunipola is picked ahead of Joe Marler at loose-head prop while Danny Care replaces Ben Youngs at scrum-half.

England were crowned RBS 6 Nations champions on Sunday and victory against France will see them seal their first Grand Slam since 2003,

“We’ve picked our best 23 who we think can get the job done in Paris," said Jones,

Marler drops to the bench, as does Youngs and they join Manu Tuilagi, Elliot Daly, Jack Clifford, Joe Launchbury, Kieran Brookes and Luke Cowan-Dickie as replacements.

"Mako Vunipola comes in at loose-head for Joe Marler who will make an impact off the bench," added Jones.

“Everyone wants to be on the field this Saturday so selection was nip and tuck. Danny Care starts at scrum half with Ben Youngs finishing the game."   

After his man-of-the-match performance against Wales, Maro Itoje retains his place ahead of Launchbury while hooker Dylan Hartley leads the side once more.

England's back row is also unchanged for the fifth successive match while George Ford remains at fly-half with Owen Farrell at inside centre.

“While we are pleased to have already won the championship we don’t want to let our foot off the gas," said Jones.

"The objective has always been to win every game, to be the most dominant team in Europe, so it’s been very important to us to approach this week with the same level of intensity we have shown in previous weeks. I’m pleased with how we have prepared and with the focus the squad have shown.

“You can’t underestimate any team in Test match rugby. France are a dangerous team but we go to Paris full of confidence and a hunger to get the win.”  

England match-day 23 to face France:

1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 31 caps)
2 Dylan Hartley (captain, Northampton Saints, 70 caps)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 60 caps)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 3 caps)
5 George Kruis (Saracens, 14 caps)
6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 47 caps)
7 James Haskell (Wasps, 66 caps)
8 Billy Vunipola (vice captain, Saracens, 25 caps)
9 Danny Care (Harlequins, 57 caps)
10 George Ford (Bath Rugby, 21 caps)
11 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 14 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (vice captain, Saracens, 39 caps)
13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 20 caps)
14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 19 caps)
15 Mike Brown (vice captain, Harlequins, 47 caps)
16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 2 caps)
17 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 41 caps)
18 Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints 16 caps)
19 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 31 caps)
20 Jack Clifford (Harlequins, 4 caps)
21 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 56 caps)
22 Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 26 caps)
23 Elliot Daly (Wasps, 2 caps)

England team announcement together with O2, proud sponsors of England Rugby.