Red Roses name side for Women's Rugby World Cup final

Red Roses head coach Simon Middleton has made one change for the Women’s Rugby World Cup final against New Zealand on Saturday at Kingspan Stadium in Belfast (19:45pm kick-off).

With Danielle Waterman ruled out with concussion, Emily Scarratt moves to full back and Meg Jones is the one change, taking her place at outside centre in a game that will be broadcast live on ITV 1 from 7pm.

England, who beat the Black Ferns 29-21 in their last meeting in New Zealand in June, are looking to defend the title they won three years ago for their third Women's Rugby World Cup triumph.

“Our goal was to get to this point in the tournament, using the full breadth of the squad and rotating players to ensure we were in the best possible position to peak on Saturday,” said Middleton.

“The strength in depth of this squad and the quality across all 28 players has meant we have been able to do just that.

“We have full confidence in this squad. As a group they have consistently delivered quality performances throughout the tournament. It’s now about finishing the job and leaving nothing out on the field come Saturday.”

The Red Roses have now reached the last five finals in the competition but have been beaten by the Black Ferns in three of those, before they beat Canada in France in 2014.

New Zealand, who this week overtook England as the number one ranked side in the world, overcame a stubborn USA side 45-12 in their semi-final as they ran in seven tries.

The Kiwis are the most successful side in the competition having won the tournament four times, but England won 29-21 in New Zealand earlier this summer.

Tamara Taylor and Rochelle Clark will be playing in their fourth World Cup final with Rachel Burford, Sarah Hunter, Emily Scarratt, Katy Mclean and La Toya Mason featuring in a final for a third time.

England Women matchday 23 against New Zealand, Women’s Rugby World Cup final.

15. Emily Scarratt (Lichfield, 73 caps); 14. Lydia Thompson (Worcester Valkyries, 37 caps), 13. Megan Jones (Bristol, 8 caps), 12. Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies, 71 caps), 11. Kay Wilson (Richmond, 48 caps); 10. Katy Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 90 caps), 9. Natasha Hunt (Lichfield, 40 caps); 1. Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies, 30 caps), 2. Amy Cokayne (Lichfield, 32 caps), 3. Sarah Bern (Bristol, 14 caps), 4. Abbie Scott (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 20 caps), 5. Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 108 caps), 6. Alex Matthews (Richmond, 36 caps), 7. Marlie Packer (Bristol, 50 caps), 8. Sarah Hunter (Bristol, 97 caps) (C).

16. Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens, 64 caps), 17. Rochelle Clark (Worcester Valkyries, 128 caps), 18. Justine Lucas (Lichfield, 26 caps), 19. Harriet Millar-Mills (Lichfield, 50 caps), 20. Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol, 35 caps), 21. La Toya Mason (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 69 caps), 22. Amber Reed (Bristol, 43 caps), 23. Amy Wilson Hardy (Bristol, 9 caps).

Women’s Rugby World Cup schedule
England 56-5 Spain – Pool B
Wednesday 9 August, UCD Bowl, Dublin
England 56-13 Italy – Pool B
Sunday 13 August, Billings Park UCD, Dublin

England 46-26 USA – Pool B
Thursday 17 August, Billings Park UCD, Dublin

England 20-3 France – Women’s Rugby World Cup semi-final

Tuesday 20 August, Kingspan Stadium, Belfast

England v New Zealand – Women’s Rugby World Cup final

Saturday 26 August, Kingspan Stadium, Belfast