Saxons name side to face South Africa A

  • Dave Attwood to captain England Saxons
  • Kick-off 6.10pm, live on Sky Sports 3

England Saxons have named their match-day 23 to face South Africa ‘A’ ahead of the first game in Bloemfontein on Friday 10 June.

The starting 15 features a wealth of senior England experience, with a total of 60 caps shared among the side, led by captain Dave Attwood. 

Ollie Devoto and Tommy Taylor, who both came off the bench to gain their first England caps in the recent Old Mutual Wealth Cup victory against Wales, are among the names starting on Friday.

Saxons will play South Africa’s second team for the first time at Bloemfontein’s Free State stadium, kicking off at 6.10pm BST with the match broadcast live on Sky Sports 3.

"We’re really pleased with how the group is progressing together," said Head Coach Ali Hepher.

"We’re developing the players, which is key to this tour, and we now want to see how they perform on the international stage.

“We want to see a team that doesn’t hold back, that is fearless in the way it puts itself out there, but is also very accurate, playing smart rugby with or without the ball.”

The side play South Africa ‘A’ twice, with their second game taking place at Outeniqua Park in George on Friday 17 June (KO 6.10pm BST).  

England Saxons match-day 23 for first game against South Africa ‘A’

15. Mike Haley (Sale Sharks)

14. Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby, 1 senior England cap) 

13. Nick Tompkins (Saracens)

12. Ollie Devoto (Bath Rugby, 1 senior England cap)

11. Alex Lewington (London Irish)

10. Danny Cipriani (Wasps, 14 senior England caps)

9. Dan Robson (Wasps)

1. Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs)

2. Tommy Taylor (Wasps, 1 senior England cap)

3. Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints, 16 senior England caps)

4. Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby, 23 senior England caps) (C)

5. Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)

6. Donovan Armand (Exeter Chiefs)

7. Matt Kvesic (Gloucester, 3 senior England caps)

8. Sam Jones (Wasps)


16. George McGuigan (Newcastle Falcons)

17. Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks)

18. Jake Cooper-Woolley (Wasps)

19. Mitch Lees (Exeter Chiefs)

20. Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs)

21. Micky Young (Newcastle Falcons)

22. Sam James (Sale Sharks)

23. Christian Wade (Wasps, 1 senior England cap)