About the World Rugby U20 Championship

The World Rugby U20 Championship is a 12-team tournament, previously known as the IRB Junior World Championship.

The tournament consists of 30 matches taking placed over five days at two venues: AJ Bell Stadium (home of Sale Sharks) and Manchester City’s Academy Stadium.

The tournament is owned and governed by World Rugby, and this year, will be delivered by the RFU in Manchester from June 7. Previous hosts include Wales, Japan, Argentina, Italy, South Africa, France and New Zealand.


Three nations have lifted the trophy: New Zealand (2008-11 and 2015), South Africa (2012), England (2013-14)

370+ former U20s players have made the step up to senior international level, including RWC 2015 winners Sam Whitelock, Brodie Retallick, Sam Cane, Julian Savea and Aaron Smith of New Zealand, Wales captain Sam Warburton, Ireland’s Conor Murray and England’s own Henry Slade and Jack Nowell. Jack Clifford and Maro Itoje were winning captains in 2013 and 2014 respectively

As host Union of the World Rugby U20 Championship, we aim to:

  • Raise the profile of the event and the sport
  • Drive local involvement through businesses, schools, colleges, universities and the rugby family in the North West of England
  • Target 5,000 – 8,000 tickets sold per venue, per match day
  • Drive participation in the game at a playing, coaching and volunteer level
  • Build a world class event setting a new standard for future World Rugby U20 Championships

World Rugby U20 Championship team training grounds

After an extensive search across Lancashire and Cheshire, 12 of the Rugby Football Union’s (RFU) community rugby clubs have been chosen to host the training for visiting teams for this year’s tournament.

Broughton Park FC – New Zealand
Sale FC – England
Burnage RFC – South Africa
Ashton-on-Mersey RFC – France
Bowdon RUFC – Australia
Aldwinians RUFC – Wales
Trafford MV RFCC – Ireland
Bury RUFC – Scotland
Stockport RUFC – Argentina
Lymm RFC – Japan
Wilmslow RUFC – Italy
Widnes RUFC – Georgia

Take a look around the EnglandRugby.com World Rugby U20 Championship hub for more information on the tournament, including ways to get involved.