England learn opponents for Rugby World Cup 2019

England will face France and Argentina at the 2019 Rugby World Cup after the draw was made in Kyoto, Japan on Wednesday.

Eddie Jones' side will also face opponents from the Americas as well as Oceania qualifying groups in Pool C.

World champions New Zealand will face South Africa and Italy while hosts Japan take on Ireland and Scotland - with further opponents in both pools to be confirmed.

"I’m excited by the draw," said Jones. "We want to win the World Cup in 2019, and to win it, we need to be ready to play and beat anyone."

England have met France four times in Rugby World Cup history, winning three and losing once. They have also faced Argentina twice at the tournament, winning both occasions.

The World Cup runs from 20 September to 2 November 2019 and the 12 teams who automatically qualified by finishing in the top three of their groups at the last World Cup have been drawn.

The eight remaining teams have had their slots allocated and will be determined by the qualification process that ends in 2018."We want to win the World Cup in 2019, and to win it, we need to be ready to play and beat anyone."

Jones added: "Our pool will be highly competitive and full of intensity, as a World Cup group should be – history shows that you need to win seven games to win the tournament and we will greatly respect every team we play.

"We will be ready – our detailed planning for the group, and the tournament, starts now. Everything we do, every game we play and every day we train is aimed at continuously improving and is focussed on our ultimate goal of winning the World Cup. 
"I have no doubt that Japan will stage a unique and wonderful tournament in 2019 ”

In the quarter-finals, the Pool A winner will face the Pool B runner-up, the Pool B winner the Pool A runner-up, the Pool C winner the Pool D runner-up and the Pool D winner the Pool C runner-up. 

Draw for Rugby World Cup 2019:

Pool A: Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Europe 1, play-off winner.

Pool B: New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Africa 1,  Repechage, 

Pool C: England, France, Argentina, Americas 1, Oceania 2, 

Pool D: Australia, Wales, Georgia, Oceania 1, Americas 2,