England Sevens announce squad for 2017/18 season

England Men Sevens have announced their squad for the 2017/18 season.
England will compete on a number of fronts including the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, followed by the 2018 Commonwealth Games, the Rugby Europe Sevens Grand Prix Series and Rugby World Cup Sevens.
Simon Amor’s 20-man squad is split into senior, academy, university and club players while earlier this year senior players Richard de Carpentier, Ollie Lindsay-Hague, Charlie Hayter, Tom Mitchell, Dan Norton and James Rodwell signed contract extensions.
Dan Bibby, Tom Bowen, Phil Burgess, Alex Davis, Ruaridh McConnochie and Ethan Waddleton are also retained for next season.

Academy programme

England Sevens introduced an academy programme for the first time in 2015 and following its success has offered full-time contracts for 2017/18 to George Chatterton, Will Edwards, Lailand Gordon, Fergus Guiry, Charlton Kerr, Ryan Olowofela, Callum Sirker and Charlie Spawforth.

Meanwhile, Cameron Cowell who played 38 matches for England on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series will return to the 15-a-side game playing for Newcastle Falcons’ senior academy squad this season. Other players who will not be renewing their contracts with the England Sevens programme this season include Jordan Ainslie, Will Attfield, Tom Ffitch, Oskar Hirskyj-Douglas and Henry Martin who will all be heading to university.

“This season we have two major competitions in the Commonwealth Games as well as the Rugby World Cup Sevens and all of our efforts will be focused on doing our best to win these events," said England Men Sevens head coach Amor.

"This, on top of the 10 legs of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series and the international academy tournaments that we’ll be playing in, demonstrates this season is undoubtedly going to be a hugely challenging and exciting one for this group of players."This season is undoubtedly going to be a hugely challenging and exciting one."

“We have an extremely talented squad made up of experienced, senior players who understand what it takes to win competitions, along with a strong group of academy players who we will be looking to develop through the England Sevens pathway into becoming world-class players.

In addition to the full-time contracted players for this season, eight part-time contracts have been offered to university players across the men’s and women’s programmes as a result of the strong relationships that the England Sevens programme has built with selected universities. 

Harry Glover, Will Glover, Yaree Fantini and Charlie Kingham will train with the men’s squad when they are not studying, while Jess Breach, Liv Jones, Celia Quansah and Kelly Smith will train with the women’s squad. Both groups of players will compete in international academy tournaments alongside the full-time players.

As a shared agreement with Gloucester Rugby to help develop Mason Tonks, he will also join the England Sevens programme on a part-time basis and will compete in international academy tournaments.

England Men Sevens squad for 2017/18:

Dan Bibby, Tom Bowen, Phil Burgess, George Chatterton, Richard de Carpentier, Alex Davis, Will Edwards, Lailand Gordon, Fergus Guiry, Charlie Hayter, Charlton Kerr, Ollie Lindsay-Hague, Ruaridh McConnochie, Tom Mitchell, Dan Norton, Ryan Olowofela, James Rodwell, Callum Sirker, Charlie Spawforth, Ethan Waddleton.

Men’s university players:

Yaree Fantini (Northumbria University), Harry Glover (Newcastle University), Will Glover (Newcastle University), Charlie Kingham (Loughborough University), Mason Tonks (Gloucester Academy).

Women’s university players:

Jess Breach (Chichester University), Liv Jones (Loughborough University), Celia Quansah (Loughborough University), Kelly Smith (Hartpury College).

England Men Sevens tournament schedule 2017/18

HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2017-18:

Dubai: 1-2 December, 2017
Cape Town: 9-10 December
Sydney: 26-28 January, 2018
Hamilton: 3-4 February
Las Vegas: 2-4 March
Vancouver: 10-11 March
Hong Kong: 6-8 April 
Singapore: 28-29 April
London: 2-3 June
Paris: 9-10 June
Commonwealth Games 2018:

Gold Coast: 14-15 April

Rugby World Cup Sevens 2018:
San Francisco: 20-22 July

International Academy Tournaments:

DHL Oktoberfest 7s: 29-30 September
Assupol 7s: 28-28 October
Silicon Valley 7s: 4-5 November
Dubai Invitational 7s: 30 November – 2 December

‚Äč‚ÄčEngland Sevens are sponsored by Secure Trading.