England Sevens announce World Cup squad

  • England win Mitsubishi Motors Exeter 7s - read
  • Squad named for San Francisco
  • Tournament runs 20-22 July

Head of England Sevens Simon Amor has named the 12 players who will represent their country at the Rugby World Cup Sevens in San Francisco on 20-22 July.

The squad includes 10 bronze medallists from the recent Gold Coast Commonwealth Games and six players who represented Team GB at the Rio 2016 Olympics where they secured silver.

Tom Mitchell will captain the team in what will be his second Rugby World Cup Sevens after he and fellow teammates Mike Ellery, all-time leading try scorer Dan Norton and England Sevens’ most capped player James Rodwell reached the final in Moscow 2013.

“We’ve selected a very exciting team for the Rugby World Cup Sevens,” said Amor.

“There have been some outstanding performances across the board recently and this is backed up by the team’s consistency. Achieving five podium finishes since the Commonwealth Games demonstrates that we’re in a good place going into this World Cup.

“We’ve got a very quick team and one that gives us lots of options in terms of the style of rugby that we can play, and we’re really looking forward to putting this into action in San Francisco."

The experienced outfit is complemented with two members of the England Sevens academy squad: Will Edwards and Will Muir, who has recently joined the England Sevens programme after graduating from Northumbria University.

Edwards made his World Series debut with the England Sevens in Vancouver 2017 where England won the tournament, and recently captained a senior England side to Cup victory at the Mitsubishi Motors Exeter 7s on 7-8 July.

England, who are seeded fourth in the World Cup behind South Africa, Fiji and New Zealand will play their first game on Saturday 21 July at 4.09am (BST) against the winner of Samoa v Uganda.

The tournament, which will be held at AT&T Park, follows a straight knock-out format meaning that teams will have to win every match to be crowned World Cup winners.

Amor added: “The way that Will Edwards and Will Muir have progressed over the past two tournaments has been exceptional and we’re really impressed with the way that they’ve performed to fight their way into this World Cup squad.

“The knock-out format of this competition makes it incredibly exciting and high-pressured, and to play at an iconic baseball stadium and in a city that we haven’t played in before makes this a unique experience that we’re fully embracing.”

Dan Bibby, Ethan Waddleton, Ryan Olowofela and Tom Bowen were unavailable for selection due to injury with Amor adding: “Obviously we’re really disappointed to have picked up injuries to Dan Bibby and Ethan Waddleton in Exeter and Ryan Olowofela and Tom Bowen in Marcoussis but despite that, we’re fortunate to have such a talented squad which has made selection very difficult.”

England secured their spot for San Francisco as one of the eight quarter-finalists from the last Rugby World Cup Sevens in Moscow 2013.

England Sevens squad:

Phil Burgess, Alex Davis, Richard de Carpentier, Will Edwards, Mike Ellery, Harry Glover, Ollie Lindsay-Hague, Ruaridh McConnochie, Tom Mitchell ©, Will Muir, Dan Norton, James Rodwell.