England Students select squad for France

  • Nine universities are represented in the squad
  • England Students play France Universities on 15 and 20 April

England Students have selected a 26-man squad to play against their French counterparts this month.

Nine universities are represented in the team, with BUCS Super Rugby champions Hartpury leading the way with six of their players making the final cut. Fellow BUCS Super Rugby finalists Cardiff Met, along with Northumbria and Bath, will be sending three players. 

The first game will take place at the Chambéry Rugby Club on Sunday at 15:00 and the second fixture will be played on the following Friday (20 April) with a kick-off set for 18:30.

“We’ve selected a very strong side across all positions, and we have a number of options which will give us a good chance of beating France," said head coach Aaron James.

Last year in Bristol, France Universities came away victorious, 26-15, so England Students will be out for revenge. 

"There’s going to be player input into the way we play," added James. "So we’re going to get together and discuss how we’re going to be culturally and how we’re going to all work together."

The management team, led by manager Paul Baty and James, have also selected a nine-man standby list.

England Students 

Alex Gibson Hartpury
Ben Stevenson Durham
Ben Williams Cardiff Met
Charlie Reed Manchester 
Colin Markham Durham 
Conrad Cade Leeds Beckett
David Williams Notts Trent
Felix Maddison Exeter
George Gosling Exeter 
George Wacokecoke Northumbria 
Harry Seward Cardiff Met
Jack Edmondson Bath
Jake Ellwood Northumbria
James Elliot Leeds Beckett
James Forrester Hartpury
Josh Bragman Northumbria 
Luke Northmore Cardiff Met
Luke Stratford Hartpury
Max Clementson Hartpury
Oliver Robinson Northumbria
Sam Leeming Hartpury 
Simon Linsell Exeter
Tim Cardall Notts Trent
Tom Pashley Hartpury
Will Britton Bath
Will Partington Bath 

Standby list
Ben Fowles Durham 
Dan Kelly Leeds Beckett
Dan Nutton Newcastle
Max Cresswell Bristol
Tom Doughty Bath
Scott Harvey  Cardiff Met
William Crane Hartpury 
Will Flinn Bath
Will Goodrick-Clark Oxford Brooks