Middleton calls up Red Roses for Canada game

Red Roses head coach Simon Middleton has named 27 players in the squad for their Old Mutual Wealth Series opener against Canada at Allianz Park.

England face Canada over three Tests in November with the first match on Friday 17 November.

Catherine O’Donnell (Loughborough Lightning) and England Women U20s player Hannah Botterman (Saracens Women) are called up for the first time, while non EPS player Shaunagh Brown (Harlequins Ladies) has also been added, but Sarah Bern (foot) and Harriet Millar-Mills (knee) are both ruled out of the series.

“We will be focused on bringing the squad together, which combines exciting young talent and more experienced players, ensuring we are fully prepared to take on Canada," said Middleton.

“Catherine O’Donnell and Hannah Botterman offer the characteristics that we are looking to see from the team this year, playing a confrontational style of rugby and we feel they will add an edge to the side.

"Shaunagh Brown has earned the opportunity to join the squad ahead of the first Test, after putting in consistently outstanding performances in the Tyrrells Premier 15s this season. We are looking forward to seeing what she can bring to the international setup.”
“Sadly, Harriett Millar-Mills will not feature this season after picking up a long-term injury ahead of camp. She delivered some incredible performances in the Tyrrells Premier 15s, we wish her the best with her recovery.

"We feel for Sarah Bern who will also miss the series through injury, which was picked up on club duty, but we know she will be working hard over the next couple of months to be back in contention ahead of the Six Nations.”

Izzy Noel Smith (Bristol Ladies) and Justine Lucas (Wasps FC) will join up with the squad later in the week. Lucas will continue her rehabilitation after picking up an ankle injury last month. 


Jo Brown (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)*, Rowena Burnfield (Richmond FC), Amy Cokayne (Wasps FC Ladies), Rochelle Clark (Wasps FC Ladies), Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women), Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies), Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries), Sarah Hunter (Loughborough Lightning), Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), Justine Lucas (Wasps FC Ladies), Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol Ladies), Marlie Packer (Saracens Women), Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies), Shaunagh Brown (Harlequins Ladies)*, Catherine O’Donnell (Loughborough Lightning)*, Hannah Botterman (Saracens Women)*.


Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies), Jess Breach (Harlequins Ladies)*, Charlotte Clapp (Saracens Women), Katy Daley-Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), Abigail Dow (Wasps FC Ladies)*. Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women)*, Ellie Kildunne (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC)*, Caity Mattinson (Bristol Ladies)*, Amber Reed (Bristol Ladies), Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies), Lagi Tuima (Bristol Ladies)*, Danielle Waterman (Wasps FC Ladies).

England's 2017 Old Mutual Wealth Series

Friday 17 November - England Women v Canada @ Allianz Park (KO 19:30, live stream via EnglandRugby.com)

Tuesday 21 November - England Women v Canada @ Twickenham Stoop (KO 19:45, live Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Action & Sky Sports Mix)

Saturday 25 November - England Women v Canada @ Twickenham Stadium (KO 17:40, live Sky Sports Arena & Sky Sports Mix)