Schedule for 2019 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series confirmed

  • Women's series increases to six rounds
  • Series is part of Olympic qualification for 2020
  • Buy tickets for Mitsubishi Motors Exeter 7s here 

World Rugby has announced all rounds of next seasons men’s and women’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2019. 

Rugby sevens continues to engage global audiences and break new ground. The men’s and women’s 2018 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series saw record breaking fan engagement figures with over 120 million video views, a 60% increase on 2017. 

The 2019 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series will be hotly contested as 15 core men’s teams and 11 core women’s teams compete for the world series title and with next seasons series acting as the principal route for qualification for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, it promises to be once again highly competitive.

This season, the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series increases to six rounds with USA Rugby hosting the new opening round in Glendale, Colorado 20-21 October 2018. 

Round two and three are combined events alongside the men’s series, taking place in Dubai 29-30 November 2018 and Sydney 1-2 February 2019 with round four taking place in Kitakyushu, 20-21 April 2019 and round five scheduled for 11-12 May in Langford, Canada. The final round of the HSBC World Rugby Women’s sevens series will culminate in Paris, 31 May – 1 June 2019. 

The men’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series will be contested across ten rounds from December 2018 to June 2019.

World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said “As we enter an Olympic Games qualifying year, the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series promises to again be highly competitive as both men’s and women’s teams look to secure their place, via the world series, at Tokyo 2020. 

“Rugby sevens has seen record growth in awareness in recent years with its inclusion in the Olympics having a profound effect on the sport, attracting an estimated 30 million fans globally. The series continues to capture the imagination of global audiences with record breaking fan engagement figures of over 120m video views recorded this year. 

Leanne Cutts, HSBC Group General Manager and Group Head of Marketing: “As a long term partner of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, we can take great pride in the work we’ve done with World Rugby to help deliver the record growth and expansion the game has enjoyed in recent seasons. 

The 2019 series also welcomes China and Japan, who join the women’s and men’s competitions respectively as core teams having secured qualification in Hong Kong earlier in the year. 

HSBC World Rugby Men's Sevens Series*

Dubai, UAE, 30th November – 1st December 2018 **
Cape Town, South Africa, 8th – 9th December, 2018
Hamilton, New Zealand, 26th – 27th January 2019
Sydney, Australia, 2nd – 3rd February 2019 **
Las Vegas, USA, 1st – 3rd March, 2019
Vancouver, Canada, 9th – 10th March, 2019
Hong Kong, Hong Kong, 5th – 7th April, 2019
Singapore, Singapore, 13th – 14th April, 2019
London, England, 25th – 26th May, 2019
Paris, France, 1st – 2nd June, 2019**

HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series*

Colorado, USA, 20th - 21st October, 2018
Dubai, UAE, 29th – 30th November, 2018**
Sydney, Australia, 1st – 3rd February, 2019 **
Kitakyushu, Japan, 20th – 21st April, 2019
Langford, Canada, 11th – 12th May, 2019
Paris, France, 31st May – 2nd June, 2019 **

*All fixtures correct at time of publication/subject to change
**combined events